Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Yeah, I'm still a newbie. – Warning light question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tdskip
So I did search on this but did not find in answer, so what the heck, thought I'd ask...

I am starting to use that 1973 1.7 car that I bought on Bring a Trailer and so far so good. My gas gauge is showing half a tank but the orange light next to the pointer remains illuminated. I'm assuming this is my low fuel warning light after checking the diagrams but would like to doublecheck.

Thanks for all of the help.

Click to view attachment
dr914@autoatlanta.com
yes low fuel warning, looking at that gauge, you might want to remove the float in the tank, take off the cylinder cover and clean the slider

QUOTE(Tdskip @ Nov 2 2018, 12:41 PM) *

So I did search on this but did not find in answer, so what the heck, thought I'd ask...

I am starting to use that 1973 1.7 car that I bought on Bring a Trailer and so far so good. My gas gauge is showing half a tank but the orange light next to the pointer remains illuminated. I'm assuming this is my low fuel warning light after checking the diagrams but would like to doublecheck.

Thanks for all of the help.

Click to view attachment

Tdskip
Thanks George (and for the help yesterday).

The sender works, and the gauge will sweep through its motion as fuel is added / used.

Is there a separate circuit for the warning light?
rmdinmd
The light might be right but the gauge or sender might be off. I got a multi gauge that showed a half tank but the light came on. Gassed up "just in case" and found out the gauge was wrong. you only have about an 1/8 of a tank when the light lites up.
Tdskip
Ah! Well that is a pretty darn important consideration. I better check how much fuel I actually have in the tank.

Thanks!
Tdskip