Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tire Recommendations, Which Size is Best on OEM 15 1/2 Jx15 Fuchs?
914_7T3
post Apr 25 2017, 09:53 PM
Post #1

Please forgive me, I'm new to all of this!

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,991
Region Association: Southern California

Was Wondering the differences in ride characteristics for all 3 available sizes:

165/80, 185/70 or 195/65, what do you recommend?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BeemerSteve
post Apr 25 2017, 10:13 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 19,123
Region Association: Pacific Northwest

195/60×15
+Quote Post
914_7T3
post Apr 25 2017, 10:14 PM
Post #3

QUOTE(BeemerSteve @ Apr 25 2017, 09:13 PM) *

195/60×15

What brand and model of tire do you run on?
+Quote Post
arne
post Apr 26 2017, 09:24 AM
Post #4

Serial Rescuer of old vehicles...

Member No.: 20,799
Region Association: None

To answer the original question, those three sizes will not have much difference in ride quality, as all have a pretty substantial sidewall. There will be more difference in ride from tire design than from sizes. A very high performance tire (not many in these sizes) will ride harsher than the same size all-season tire. But in general, no tire in these three sizes will deliver a bad ride. Of the three sizes, the narrower 165/80 may be a slight touch more harsh as its sidewalls are pulled out as wide as they were designed to accommodate, adding a bit of tension and stiffness.