Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 911 oil temp / pressure gauge, how did you mount the pressure sensor?
falcor75
post May 24 2018, 11:01 PM
Post #1


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



I installed a 911 oil temp and pressure gauge this Winter.
I didnt want to hack up my engine tins to mount the sensor in the stock location so
I made bracket and mounted it on the fan housing where the stock coil sits and connected it to the oil pressure port with a piece of steel braided hose with the correct end fittings. It works well and doesnt leak but I've noticed that in long sweeping left hand turns I loose oil pressure, it never goes to zero but once or twice the light flickered on and then immediatly turned off again.

Do you think this could be a sensor location thing or perhaps an issue with my tuna can installation?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SixerJ
post May 25 2018, 12:48 AM
Post #2


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 24-June 13
From: UK
Member No.: 16,042
Region Association: England



Matt, 1st off I’m a 6cyl owner so have little detailed knowledge of the oil system on the 4s

My logic would say oil surge in the bend, then pump starts to struggle to pick up. But then you’d have to shift a lot of oil surely, being a wet sump and the oil pickup low down / central? Isn’t internal baffling the same left and right, so why only in one direction

Some of my early cars like minis, triumphs had this type of issue, but often they had an offset pick up so an issue in one bend but not the other. Adding more baffles in the sumps in the triumphs in particular I seem to remember was common

I cannot imagine that the small about of oil in the extended pipe is being dragged away from the sensor due to centrifugal force against the pump?

While I’m at it, great looking car and maybe we need to applaud you for the size of your kahooners and speed through the bend...... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/aktion035.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcd914
post May 25 2018, 12:59 AM
Post #3


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,645
Joined: 7-February 08
From: Sacramento, CA
Member No.: 8,684
Region Association: Northern California



I have never experienced or heard of an issue like this with oil sender mounted remotely.

I have seen a few that came loose or lost their the ground.

I would check to make sure the sender is solidly mounted and has a good ground.

If there is nothing there to attribute yoyr symptoms to I would look at the tuna can install.

Make sure the pick up tube extension fits tight and goes all the way down to the bottom of the tuna can.

I always ran mine 1/2 quart over full of oil in addition to running a tuna can.

Jim
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914Sixer
post May 25 2018, 07:32 AM
Post #4


914 Guru
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,623
Joined: 17-January 05
From: San Angelo Texas
Member No.: 3,457
Region Association: Southwest Region



Not going to be sending unit. Sender is just showing loss of pressure. Never used a tuna can so I can't speak about them.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bdstone914
post May 25 2018, 08:35 AM
Post #5


bdstone914
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,809
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Riverside CA
Member No.: 1,319



Not the sender,
Do you have a windage tray installed in the engine to reduce oil shifting in turns?
You are not picking up oil.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeorgeRud
post May 25 2018, 09:06 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,480
Joined: 27-July 05
From: Chicagoland
Member No.: 4,482
Region Association: Upper MidWest



You will lose oil feed in a long high G turn, and the oil gauge will show you when it happens. Back in the 70s, I used to track my 914 2.0, and it was always a concern on the track. The tuna can (or larger) deep sumps may have helped somewhat, but getting my -6 with a dry sump took care of it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post May 27 2018, 07:44 AM
Post #7


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



I've got a tunacan installed, unsure about the windage tray, I'll look when I take the tuna can down to check what the issue could be. I see a pressure drop just taking a left in a roundabout with an inspired pace.... something is wrong...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jetsetsurfshop
post May 27 2018, 08:32 AM
Post #8


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 675
Joined: 7-April 11
From: Marco Island Florida
Member No.: 12,907
Region Association: South East States



I dont think its your pressure gauge. Most likely its correct.
I guess someone could of installed the tuna can with out the pick up extender??
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif)
Oil pressure was a big deal for me since I share the car in endurance racing. Worried that someone not familiar with a 914 wouldn't pick up on the idiot light or gauge info.
I run an accusump. I've never seen the light come on since. Even with slicks at Sebring.
Maybe something to look into.
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/driving.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post May 27 2018, 09:44 AM
Post #9


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Yes I've already started investingating an accusump setup in case I cant find the problem. Do you have any pictures of your setup installed. It would be interesting to see.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jetsetsurfshop
post May 27 2018, 11:35 AM
Post #10


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 675
Joined: 7-April 11
From: Marco Island Florida
Member No.: 12,907
Region Association: South East States



Found this in my notes.


Attached image(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank S
post May 27 2018, 04:04 PM
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-April 15
From: Wiesbaden, Germany
Member No.: 18,632
Region Association: Germany



How are your heads vented? Don't think you have a problem with the pressure sender. The oil is probably stuck in the head and needs time flow back into the oil sump. Oillevel should be always at max of the dipstick.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post May 28 2018, 12:53 PM
Post #12


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Attached Image

Here's the sensor mounting.

Attached Image

I took the tuna can off but I cant see anything wrong really. (I've got the Jonesy version)

Attached Image

With the bolt that holds the can in place...


The heads are vented to a catch can along with the vent on the oil filler tower.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank S
post May 29 2018, 12:42 AM
Post #13


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-April 15
From: Wiesbaden, Germany
Member No.: 18,632
Region Association: Germany



Hi Mats,

looks all good to me.

Check this:
https://newsite.hamheads.com/2016/12/10/typ...tests-analysis/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post May 29 2018, 01:00 AM
Post #14


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



QUOTE(Frank S @ May 29 2018, 08:42 AM) *


I've read that a few years ago tried it on my old stock 2.0 engine but then suffered a sucked in valve cover gasket on the dyno which wasnt much fun. Thats why I avoided doing it on this engine. A bit wiser now I guess the sucked in gasket mostly depended on that it wasnt glued to the valve covers. I guess I will have to give it another try and see what happens. Thanks for reminding me. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post Jun 8 2018, 02:19 PM
Post #15


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Tuna can remounted, overfilled with about half a quart/litre over max on the dipstick. Ive also plugged the head vents with some silicone rubber hats. The connector on the oil filler tower is routed thru a half inch hose to a catch can thats then vented directly to the athmosphere thru a filter. Havnt driven it much yet but at least it doesnt loose oil pressure in roundabouts anymore from what I can tell.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank S
post Jun 8 2018, 03:45 PM
Post #16


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-April 15
From: Wiesbaden, Germany
Member No.: 18,632
Region Association: Germany



Great news.

As you have asked how others have mounted the pressure sender, here a pic of how I did it:

Attached Image

Cheers,
Frank
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post Jun 9 2018, 12:12 PM
Post #17


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Is it an adapter first that fits into the M10x1 hole and then the panjo bolt into the adapter or how did you set it up?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank S
post Jun 12 2018, 10:57 AM
Post #18


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-April 15
From: Wiesbaden, Germany
Member No.: 18,632
Region Association: Germany



Hi Mats,
I've used following adaptor:
http://www.ezt-autoteile.de/VDO-Sensoren...15::264924.html

The adaptor need to be blanked off at the side port (M10x1) at the top its a ATE M10x1 Banjo fitting mounted with a M12x1,5 Banjo Bolt.

If I have a chance, I'll send a better pic next weekend.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post Jun 12 2018, 11:57 AM
Post #19


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Thanks Frank. I'm toying with the idea of having the CNC guys at work make me an adapter on the lathe that will raise the sender up out of the engine tin hole.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
falcor75
post Jun 12 2018, 10:46 PM
Post #20


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,145
Joined: 22-November 12
From: Sweden
Member No.: 15,176
Region Association: Scandinavia



Attached Image

Heres what I'm thinking of having made. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2018 - 04:22 PM