Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Washer Stalk Question ..
Literati914
post Jun 11 2019, 10:51 AM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



I'm gonna order the following items to convert over to an electric windshield washer system, but have some questions about the washer stalk on the column. With the stock set up, how many speeds are there for the wiper action? Is it JUST low and hi only, or is there a middle speed too? (too many years since my last 914 to remember, and it hardly ever rains, so..) Also, is there an intermittent action (I doubt), and is there a way to add it? Same question with the replacement stalk I'm considering (see link)?

https://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp?Pr...C-111-953-519-G

and

https://www.ebay.com/itm/BRAND-NEW-WINDSHIE...scAAOSw5ZBWPTnf




.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Jun 11 2019, 11:28 AM
Post #2


Resident German
*************************

Group: Admin
Posts: 38,959
Joined: 21-January 03
From: Oakland, Kalifornia
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(Literati914 @ Jun 11 2019, 09:51 AM) *
Also, is there an intermittent action (I doubt), and is there a way to add it?

Yes, there was an optional intermittent relay and wiring harness for later cars. It simply mounts in-line with the current wiring, no cutting needed.
Do a search here for "intermittent", there are several threads about it.


I show the location of the relay (socket) in this tech article:
http://www.914world.com/specs/tech_el_washer.php

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/bye1.gif)
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 11 2019, 12:35 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(SirAndy @ Jun 11 2019, 12:28 PM) *

..
Yes, there was an optional intermittent relay and wiring harness for later cars. It simply mounts in-line with the current wiring, no cutting needed.
..


Thanks Andy. So, when adding this relay, how does your interaction with the stalk change? Up for intermittent, down..? Ok, you did suggest searching intermittent - the answers are probably there - I'll look again. Good write-up, BTW. Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Jun 11 2019, 12:48 PM
Post #4


Resident German
*************************

Group: Admin
Posts: 38,959
Joined: 21-January 03
From: Oakland, Kalifornia
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(Literati914 @ Jun 11 2019, 11:35 AM) *
So, when adding this relay, how does your interaction with the stalk change? Up for intermittent, down..?

Later columns have the internals for the intermittent already built in. All you have to do (after installing the extra harness and relay) is to break off a small plastic tab to allow the stalk to go down one more position to engage the intermittent circuit.
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 11 2019, 02:00 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



Thanks Andy (IMG:style_emoticons/default/beerchug.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Valy
post Jun 11 2019, 06:49 PM
Post #6


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,638
Joined: 6-April 10
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Member No.: 11,573
Region Association: Northern California



That switch is described as 6 pin connector but the picture shows 5 pins, missing the contact for the intermittent relay. Please call Cip1 and ask. I have a correct switch from them but can't find the correct listing now.
The external black wire is for the electric pump. No need to add an external switch and drill more holes.
Take the pneumatic pipes off and reroute the tubes directly from the pump to the jets.

If you want the intermittent relay, look for the same switch with 6 pins in the connector. The nice thing about the intermittent relay is that it will trigger your wipers for few seconds when you activate the pump.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Valy
post Jun 11 2019, 06:59 PM
Post #7


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,638
Joined: 6-April 10
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Member No.: 11,573
Region Association: Northern California



Found it!
Take a look here for all the info you need.
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?s=&...t&p=1620396

Again, the switch should be the right one but the picture doesn't match the description. You need 6 pins plus the external black wire.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
porschetub
post Jun 11 2019, 08:17 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,125
Joined: 25-July 15
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 18,995
Region Association: None



I'am pretty sure I ran a spare wire for my pump trigger to the relay I fitted,I cant remember if it was earth to the relay,I do remember I powered the relay of the fuseboard so would think the wire was an earth.
I see the pump shown is a knock-off by auction description anyway (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif) ,the original is a 911 part and not expensive last time I checked,I used a generic VW one that works fine only cause I had in on hand.
The OP must make sure the filler cap is blocked off but vented with a small hole.
This is a "must do" if you have a 6 cyl with front cooler and spacesaver,in my case no cooler but wanted to drop some weight,plan is to move airpump/tools and alloy wheel to the rear.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 12 2019, 03:02 PM
Post #9


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(Valy @ Jun 11 2019, 07:49 PM) *

..
If you want the intermittent relay, look for the same switch with 6 pins in the connector. The nice thing about the intermittent relay is that it will trigger your wipers for few seconds when you activate the pump.

This is key info I've been looking to understand, thanks.


QUOTE(Valy @ Jun 11 2019, 07:59 PM) *

Found it!
Take a look here for all the info you need.
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?s=&...t&p=1620396

Again, the switch should be the right one but the picture doesn't match the description. You need 6 pins plus the external black wire.


So, this leaves me a bit confused still.. since your #12 post (in that thread) is a link to the very same lever/switch that I originally posted in this post... and thanks for pointing out that it only shows 5 pins.

I sent a note to Cip1 but have not heard back from them. Interesting too, is that their description makes a comment on some models using 4 pin and some using 6 pin - however theirs is 5 !?!?!?!?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Valy
post Jun 12 2019, 04:36 PM
Post #10


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,638
Joined: 6-April 10
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Member No.: 11,573
Region Association: Northern California



There are 4, 5 and 6 pins versions.

I revisited my install so I have to correct myself.
You want the 5 pins and that is the correct listing.


Sorry for the confusion.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FlacaProductions
post Jun 12 2019, 06:29 PM
Post #11


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 24-November 17
From: LA
Member No.: 21,628
Region Association: Southern California



So I'm looking at doing this conversion as well and already have the intermittent relay as factory. I also was planning on using the Carmagic washer conversion button (http://carmagic.us/washer.html) but i'm wondering if I'm just better off getting a repro from Cip1 and do it this way...thoughts?

I'm going to be in the column anyway as my signals don't cancel (but I found the W spring on the floor so it may just be that but i'm betting one of the tabs broke off - so maybe "while I'm in there")
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 12 2019, 10:25 PM
Post #12


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(FlacaProductions @ Jun 12 2019, 07:29 PM) *

..I also was planning on using the Carmagic washer conversion button .. but i'm wondering if I'm just better off getting a repro from Cip1 and do it this way...thoughts?


I considered that too but the money's not much different with the repro lever from Cip1 - and the new lever will help freshen up the general look/feel of my interior.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 12 2019, 10:27 PM
Post #13


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(Valy @ Jun 12 2019, 05:36 PM) *

..


You want the 5 pins and that is the correct listing.


Sorry for the confusion.



Great! 'cause this is the answer I got from Cip:
"...The connector itself has 5 pins and the pump wire is considered the 6th pin.
Bill D. - CIP1.com
California Import Parts Ltd.
"

I'm placing my order, thanks for the help!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FlacaProductions
post Jun 13 2019, 08:59 AM
Post #14


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 24-November 17
From: LA
Member No.: 21,628
Region Association: Southern California



What would be the corresponding turn signal switch to the 5-pin/6-wire wiper switch if i'm replacing both?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 13 2019, 11:42 AM
Post #15


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(FlacaProductions @ Jun 13 2019, 09:59 AM) *

What would be the corresponding turn signal switch to the 5-pin/6-wire wiper switch if i'm replacing both?


(IMG:style_emoticons/default/idea.gif) I've been wondering the same.. need to study pics in one of the old threads.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Literati914
post Jun 13 2019, 02:50 PM
Post #16


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 7,222
Region Association: Southwest Region



QUOTE(FlacaProductions @ Jun 13 2019, 09:59 AM) *

What would be the corresponding turn signal switch to the 5-pin/6-wire wiper switch if i'm replacing both?


From the first post in the following thread, I'm counting 9 wire connectors on the turn switch side ....
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...p;#entry1620396

It's possible that it would be this switch (I have a request in for a count from Cip):
https://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp?Pr...2D953%2D513%2DF



.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FlacaProductions
post Jun 13 2019, 02:56 PM
Post #17


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 24-November 17
From: LA
Member No.: 21,628
Region Association: Southern California



check this thread:
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=338231
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2019 - 12:17 PM