Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> where to find MSD wiring diagram
pete-stevers
post Apr 28 2006, 10:45 AM
Post #1


saved from fire!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,611
Joined: 10-October 04
From: Abbotsford,BC, Canada
Member No.: 2,914
Region Association: Pacific Northwest



where do i find a wiring diagram for an msd box...?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mugs914
post Apr 28 2006, 10:53 AM
Post #2


"Hey, yellow IS faster!"
***

Group: Members
Posts: 618
Joined: 22-July 05
From: Temple TEXAS
Member No.: 4,452
Region Association: Southwest Region



Right here:

http://www.msdignition.com/1download.htm

That page has the instructions for the various MSD boxes. There is more info on the site if you don't see what you need on that particular page.

Have fun!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pete-stevers
post May 4 2006, 03:24 PM
Post #3


saved from fire!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,611
Joined: 10-October 04
From: Abbotsford,BC, Canada
Member No.: 2,914
Region Association: Pacific Northwest



i am looking for specific info on a msd 6200
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aaron Cox
post May 4 2006, 03:27 PM
Post #4


Professional Lawn Dart
***************

Group: Retired Admin
Posts: 24,541
Joined: 1-February 03
From: OC
Member No.: 219
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(pete-stevers @ May 4 2006, 02:24 PM) *

i am looking for specific info on a msd 6200


is that not just a 6A/L box?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aaron Cox
post May 4 2006, 03:30 PM
Post #5


Professional Lawn Dart
***************

Group: Retired Admin
Posts: 24,541
Joined: 1-February 03
From: OC
Member No.: 219
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(Aaron Cox @ May 4 2006, 02:27 PM) *

QUOTE(pete-stevers @ May 4 2006, 02:24 PM) *

i am looking for specific info on a msd 6200


is that not just a 6A/L box?



this is how ive hooked them up....



Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 25 2013, 09:35 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



Ohh buddy am I going to get flamed for this one (digging up an old thread, but hey, at least I didn't start a new one!). I searched but unfortunately since MSD is 3 letters, I didn't have much luck.

I've read through the MSD manual here:
http://www.msdignition.com/uploadedFiles/M...upport/WDTN.PDF

But I have a more unique setup. I want to wire an MSD 6AL with tach adapter AND to a distributor with a Pertronix/Compufire unit installed. Can anyone point me to the correct diagram in the directions, or even better, clarify what wires should go where?

I am a wiring dummy - it's probably the one thing I hate the most with cars. Bodywork, metal work, greasy nasty stuff, no problem. Wiring... I hate.

Thank you! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/pray.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 26 2013, 04:16 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



Bueller? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LotusJoe
post Jun 26 2013, 05:42 PM
Post #8


Europa Twink Driver
**

Group: Members
Posts: 406
Joined: 30-November 09
From: Southern California
Member No.: 11,085
Region Association: Southern California



I'm pretty certain you cannot use the MSD with the Compu-Fire ignition module. Assuming that is what your using. Petronix / Compu-Fire are two different types of units.
Attached Image

Attached Image

With the Compu-Fire you do not need any additional units. It is self contained.
I was running the Crane Fireball XR700 with the petronix ingition module. On the advise from Fat Performance I replaced both with the compu-fire unit and have no regrets. Timing is spot on with no issues what so ever.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 26 2013, 06:58 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(LotusJoe @ Jun 26 2013, 07:42 PM) *

I'm pretty certain you cannot use the MSD with the Compu-Fire ignition module. Assuming that is what your using. Petronix / Compu-Fire are two different types of

With the Compu-Fire you do not need any additional units. It is self contained.
I was running the Crane Fireball XR700 with the petronix ingition module. On the advise from Fat Performance I replaced both with the compu-fire unit and have no regrets. Timing is spot on with no issues what so ever.



Thanks Joe. Hmm. That I was unaware of. This is a Compufire, but I was under the impression that it worked the same way as a Pertronix, i.e. Hall effect.

They're both wired the same way, with two wires (red and black) which correspond to the + and - sides of the coil.

Perhaps someone else can verify this though.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Jun 26 2013, 08:13 PM
Post #10


that's what I do!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 20,057
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Port Hope, Ontario
Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada



Page 38
"MSD 6 series to Mallory Unilite",
OR if you are handy with wiring you can do "MSD 6 series to Other magnetic Pick-up Distributors" you can buy the connector part from MSD and make you own connector.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/msd-8824

I realize you are talking about a pertonix...wire it the same.

BTW with MSD really points would be good enough, you no longer have all that volts going through the points.
Think about it.... the points are now just a trigger, they will no longer burn out.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 27 2013, 06:09 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



Thanks Mark.

A quick item I noticed in the MSD instructions - it says for the 12V power and ground, which both connect directly to the battery via 12 gauge wires, to NOT use a fuse. Anyone recommend otherwise?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Jun 27 2013, 06:32 AM
Post #12


that's what I do!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 20,057
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Port Hope, Ontario
Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada



I should have kept going to page 39, "MSD 6 series to Pertonix Kit" (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

The heavy red wire and heavy black go to the battery and are internally fused.
The small red wire goes to ignition.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jasons
post Jun 27 2013, 05:44 PM
Post #13


Jackstand Extraordinaire
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,002
Joined: 19-August 04
From: Scottsdale, AZ
Member No.: 2,573
Region Association: None



I made this diagram a long time ago...

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads_offsite/i176.photobucket.com-2573-1372376693.1.jpg)

You might find more info in this thread....

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=93631
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcd914
post Jun 28 2013, 12:07 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,060
Joined: 7-February 08
From: Sacramento, CA
Member No.: 8,684
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(jasons @ Jun 27 2013, 04:44 PM) *


When Rob and I did his car, we wired it like this except the tach a would not work.
Ended up getting rid of the tach adapter and running the tach right off the MSD "Tach Out", worked perfect.

Jim
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 28 2013, 08:49 AM
Post #15


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



Thanks Jason and Jim!

I guess I could try running it off of the tach out first, since this would obviously be the easiest.

I should have mentioned that this is a '73, with silver dot gauges. I read that silver dots need the tach adapter, but the 75-75 black dots do not. Either way, my tach adapter is #8910, which is triggered by the white wire an only has two wires (red and white). The #8920 is the one with 4, which Jason posted. Guess I'll find out when I hook it all up this weekend.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcd914
post Jun 28 2013, 08:57 AM
Post #16


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,060
Joined: 7-February 08
From: Sacramento, CA
Member No.: 8,684
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(ThePaintedMan @ Jun 28 2013, 07:49 AM) *

I read that silver dots need the tach adapter, but the 75-75 black dots do not.


I had never heard this.
Rob's car is a 75, so maybe that is why it worked for us and hasn't for others.

Jim
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 28 2013, 09:12 AM
Post #17


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



Yeah, unfortunately I am an electrical idiot. Bodywork, metalwork, and suspension stuff is more up my alley, but apparently the later tachs use a different signal than the earlier ones. Do the late tachs get their signal from the coil positive, or negative? I know the early ones are hooked to the coil negative, and apparently that's why the #8910 is required to make them work.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
michael7810
post Jun 28 2013, 09:39 AM
Post #18


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,062
Joined: 6-June 11
From: Scottsdale, AZ
Member No.: 13,164
Region Association: Southwest Region



I had to use the tach adapter on my 72 with Pertronix and MSD 6AL. I can poSt a wiring diagram on Sunday when I get home if you need it. I remember using the diagram that came with the MSD but it was confusing.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThePaintedMan
post Jun 28 2013, 10:01 AM
Post #19


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,878
Joined: 6-September 11
From: St. Petersburg, FL
Member No.: 13,527
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(michael7810 @ Jun 28 2013, 11:39 AM) *

I had to use the tach adapter on my 72 with Pertronix and MSD 6AL. I can poSt a wiring diagram on Sunday when I get home if you need it. I remember using the diagram that came with the MSD but it was confusing.


That would be a huge help Michael! I would really appreciate it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th June 2022 - 12:24 AM